This is my student story.  I don’t know if it’s exactly what you were looking for but it’s the story that keeps me coming to work every day:

On my third day of employment with a proprietary school, I contacted a student for an attendance call.  When I spoke to the student, she asked me to please not leave her a message referencing the university.  She requested that I just say my name, as if I was just one of her friends calling to hang out.  When I asked her why, she informed me that her live in boyfriend was not aware that she was going to school.  She stated that he was very controlling, and didn’t want her going to school, but she needed to better her situation so she could leave him.  After asking a few tactful questions, I determined that the student was safe physically.  I gave her some information for women’s shelters in her area, but this wasn’t what she wanted to do.  She was going to do this on her own, and that was that.

We had a few bad terms, but overall this student did quite well.  She had to withdraw two times, and each time I anxiously awaited to see if she would re-enter.  When she did, I always would call right away to see how she was doing, and if she was still “safe.”  The student first completed her Diploma and got a job from her internship.  She then continued on and got her Associate’s degree.  When she started her Bachelor’s Degree, she got promoted and moved out of her boyfriend’s house.  He came after her.  She called me to let me know that she was going to a battered woman’s shelter and didn’t know if she would have internet access.  She would try to keep up in her homework.  That term, she got straight A’s.  It was apparently the best way to keep her mind off of what was going on.  She filed a restraining order.  She worked with her company to transfer to a new location in a different state.  She graduated from her Bachelor’s program with a 3.5 GPA.

I talked to her last week and she is thinking about coming back to get her MBA in Health Care Management, but isn’t sure.  She likes her current job, but is considering going back to school to be a teacher.  She wants to help women in her situation better their lives, “like our school helped her.”

Student Services Staffer, Privately Held University

Leave a Reply

